PDA

View Full Version : Whats F6 drone?

Flhfxd
05-03-2017, 08:48 AM
I've never ridden one of these yet, but I hear the odd referral to a "drone"...... is it with stock or aftermarket exhaust set up?

53driver
05-03-2017, 08:55 AM
Are you familiar with bagpipes?
The three pipes coming out of the bag that the piper is not actively playing are called "drones."
At pressure, they emit a tunable frequency and when they're out of tune, it can be epically awful.

Some people hear an irritating noise / "musical" note in several aftermarket exhausts on the F6B and the Wing when the bike is at speed at constant RPM, say cruising at 60mph.
Not all people hear it even with the same exhaust systems.

I'm running stock and I don't have it.
I've a sound freq meter app on my phone (I'm a sound engineer) and I have nothing that stands out.
If I ever run into someone with a "drone", I want to ride bitch and take readings when they hear it to see what which freq it is.

Cheers,
Steve

wjduke
05-03-2017, 09:05 AM
Not to toss something that doesn't belong, but I get a drone with my full face helmet on, but it's NOT the bike, just that helmet. My bike is all stock. I've posted here and might be one of two others that have the same thing going on. Mine is between 50-60. Below, nothing....above, nothing. Sounds like a bumble bee in my head. It's strictly my highway helmet for that reason.

willtill
05-03-2017, 09:20 AM
I think the drone is more of a "hum" or a "woooo" when you're at steady speed. It is amplified (as previously remarked) by a full faced (or even 3/4) helmets. I wear disposable foam earplugs as a result. My tinnitus is pretty bad as is...

My exhaust is stock.

opas ride
05-03-2017, 09:45 AM