PDA

View Full Version : Cold Weather Gear on a budget

Darkknight
11-16-2013, 07:54 AM
Well this is my first year "dressing for success" with cold weather gear.
There is a ton of stuff out there but I couldn't really afford the heated gear. I started with the leathers...Jacket, chaps, then added thermals but it got colder and these weren't working. I use Bates work boots that are fine in the summer but cool in the late fall.
So this is what I've found... a complete cold weather setup for under $290.
I use a base layer from FREEZEOUT by Cyclegear. (currently on sale.)
This consists of:
Base layer thermal socks, long underwear, long sleeve shirt, and neck protection. This stuff is like underarmor but has a windblock material on the forward facing surfaces. Cost $62
The textile stuff comes from Revzilla.
Tourmaster text pants. cost $80
My leather jacket is heavy and rides up on my back, sooo...
My Tourmaster Saber3 text Jacket should be delivered on Monday for $144
total cost $286
Now I'm figuring out how much is too warm for what temp. So far wearing just what I mentioned is good for High 30's to mid 50's. Maybe an outer shirt and pants under the text stuff for under 30 degrees but I haven't seen those temps yet.
As for Gloves I use just some Olympia insulated gloves but I do have the heated grips if needed. Also the Rocky's Risers I installed and adjusted to the most narrow position seems to have brought my hands rearward and out of the wind.
So that's the view from the cheap seats. :0)

Big Dawg
11-18-2013, 07:10 PM