PDA

View Full Version : Luck Finally Ran Out!!

valkmc
12-06-2020, 06:04 PM
I have been riding a bike on the road since 1975 and I finally went down. I tangled with a pallet on my B a couple of years ago and posted about it. Lots of bike damage but I kept it upright so no injuries. Not so lucky this time.

I was in rush hour traffic trying to get out of Ocala so I could spend the weekend at my condo in Daytona. I was in the left lane of two lanes headed east when all hell broke loose. Cars in front of me to my right were hitting each other and my attention went to them to make sure they weren't coming back to me. I turned my attention back to my lane and there was an SUV dead stopped. I was going about 35 I think. No time to do much but put her down and get off. I wasn't going to ride it into the rear of the SUV. The bike hit the SUV and I slide to the left of it without hitting it. Totally my vault, lack of attention for what was in front of me. I got a ticket. The driver of the SUV slammed on his brakes because the cars in the other accident were all over the place and he was trying to avoid them(no they never came into our lane). He apologized but I assured him he did nothing wrong.

Road rash hurts, never had any before, left forearm, right hand, left knee. Had my half helmet on. It took a shot to the right side with no injuries to my face or head.

Now what to do, Progressive does not send adjusters out due to Covid so I had to take pictures and send them in. Not sure how they will assess the damage. I hope they total it. 2013, 51K so if it reaches 50 to 75% they will/can total it according to the person handling the claim.

Not sure how I feel about it. Should I get another big bike? I am sure I will ride in some form but a 63 maybe I will scale back and give up the cross country, upstate NY trips and get something small to putt around on. Who knows at this point. I feel lucky but I sure hurt all over!!!

7800 7801

JackB
12-06-2020, 06:53 PM