PDA

View Full Version : BikeMP3 vs Honda Cargo Rack

SPGrenier
07-25-2014, 10:20 AM
As a newbie here, I've seen several posts with questions of these cargo carriers.

I had originally ordered the Honda Carrier until I learned of the BikeMP3 version on this board. My Honda dealer will take the Honda one back but I thought I'd wait so I could put them side by side and provide pics for others in the market for a carrier. Not sure if that has been done outside of text discussions.

As to overall size: Honda measures 11 3/4 inches wide X 10 1/8 front to back.
BikeMP3 Measures 17 7/8 inches wide X 11 1/2 front to back

As to the weight: The Honda, although significantly smaller weighs in at 3.25 lbs and the BikeMP3 at 2.3 lbs. The thickness of the metal used in
each is virtually the same. (sorry, I didn't have a digital caliper to measure them) BikeMP3 correctly states that they use a light
weight alloy.

Both cargo carriers have a recommended weight load of about 6.6 lbs. They are both very stylish. Both offer 4 pins on the underside to hook your bungee cords to.

Hope this helps!

hoglaw
07-25-2014, 11:40 AM
What's the price on the Honda cargo rack?

Scotrod
07-25-2014, 11:43 AM
Excellent comparo! :yes:

MP3 rack is the way to go if you actually plan to haul something!!!

I've got an OEM passenger backrest / mounts at home I need to install on my standard,,,

Pete ran a HECK of a special last winter on the rack, but I'm not sure he'll be able to do it again.

(I really have no 'immediate' need for any rack, but,,,, you know,, 'the force is strong!" LOL!)

jimmy hudson
07-25-2014, 11:46 AM
Excellent post: informative, concise, and for me, most compelling!

Bruce B
07-25-2014, 11:48 AM