PDA

View Full Version : Strange Noise from rear when turning

celewis
08-26-2014, 09:21 AM
I've got a question for the hands on guy's here, I just recently noticed a strange noise while turning or going through bends usually slow speeds is when I really notice it. I'm new to the single sided shaft driven bikes. Is this normal or should I take it to get looked at?? Note the pre-load is at the factory setting.

Steve 0080
08-26-2014, 09:27 AM
I would check the rear fluid level..... or better yet go by the dealer and see if they can here it..... how many miles?

The factory setting is either full soft or full hard...try it it the middle and go from there....

bob109
08-26-2014, 09:41 AM
What you may be hearing is tire noise seeing that you only hear it when cornering:icon_wink:

Scotrod
08-26-2014, 09:45 AM
What you may be hearing is tire noise seeing that you only hear it when cornering:icon_wink:

That's what my first thoughts were.

How many miles on tires?

MSGT-R
08-26-2014, 10:14 AM
Miles don't mean much unless you never corner it.

Go find a parking lot, slide your arse to the outside, look way over your shoulder and do some 2nd gear circles to scrub the outer-third of those tires in!

celewis
08-26-2014, 10:17 AM
I have 7,600 miles give or take.

And trust me, scurbbing the edges in on the tires is not the issue I came off of a 05 GSXR 1000 and have tested the cornering clearance on both sides the Wing several times already..

Scotrod
08-26-2014, 10:37 AM
With 7,600 miles, and without riding the bike /hearing the noise myself, I'd say cupping/tires.

BIGLRY
08-26-2014, 10:56 AM
I've got a question for the hands on guy's here, I just recently noticed a strange noise while turning or going through bends usually slow speeds is when I really notice it. I'm new to the single sided shaft driven bikes. Is this normal or should I take it to get looked at?? Note the pre-load is at the factory setting.