PDA

View Full Version : Windshields for the uninitiated

bigswole31
03-18-2015, 10:01 PM
I'm 6' 3" and I've been an owner of an ULTRA-FAST Black F6B since July 2014. I've come to understand that a new windshield is one of the first (second to a new seat?) accessories that many purchase. I hear all of this talk about buffeting and such, but I always expected a lot of wind on a motorcycle, having never ridden one with a shield on it. All of my riding has been on "standard" or "sport" bikes, so this is my first time on a tourer/bagger.

I have no experience with "clean air". I certainly wouldn't MIND less wind noise and whistling in my full-face modular helmet or being able to hear my music on the highway without having it turned up to 24, but I don't like how really tall shields make the bike look. Also, on warm\hot days, I'd HATE to lose the cooling effect of the air flow through my mesh jacket. Is the windshield mainly intended for riders who ride open-faced??

Last riding season, I went on quite a few long day trips, logging many hours of continuous riding at 80+ mph and quite a few hours riding in the rain. I don't ever remember feeling "beatup" by the wind or excessively fatigued, but maybe I just don't know what I'm missing having never ridden behind a shield before. The thing is, I would hate to drop money on a shield and hate the experience. I do like the look of the dark 9-inch Cee-Bailey, but I would assume that it would be purely cosmetic. The tallest shields that look decent to me are the blacked-out Baggershield and the blacked-out Klock Werks (I guess that you can tell that I prefer the look of the really dark shields on a black bike.), but at my height, would they also be merely cosmetic?

So are all of you "shielders" coming from tourers and baggers? Do you owners of non-vented shields get enough air to keep you cool and comfy in the heat? I wish that there was some way to test these things out before plunking down the money, but such is life.