PDA

View Full Version : Tire Repair Kit?

Darkknight
07-15-2013, 04:54 AM
Ok, I'm a rookie I admit it. I long ride for me is 150 miles. I'm going to Maine in 20 days and it's going to be about 400 miles that day to get there. That's nothing for you REAL riders.:icon_lol:
I'm probably just over preparing but here is my question...
Do you guys that drive on long tours carry a tire repair kit or am I worrying about nothing?:iduno:
I will be riding 2up plus luggage.

bob109
07-15-2013, 05:12 AM
You can buy a Tire Plug Kit at almost any Auto Store or Wally World for less than $10.00. They are small in size and absolutely priceless when you need one. I have the Slime Kit which includes a small 12 volt air compressor:icon_wink:

Steve 0080
07-15-2013, 07:21 AM
In forty years of riding I have never been left on the side of the rode...now typing this it will be my turn...nothing wrong with being prepared!

http://www.cyclegear.com/CycleGear/Tires/Tire-Accessories/Valve-Caps/brand/BIKEMASTER/Tire-%26-Tube-Flat-Repair-Kit/p/42095_00000

Yeahoo Whoyah
07-15-2013, 07:32 AM
If you're riding in a small group make sure one carries tire repair supplies. If not in a group then it's up to you to be prepared. My last tire puncture was in 2005 while on a multi-state trip and roadside repair saved the day.

MichaelG
07-15-2013, 08:01 AM
DarkKnight...er...Rookie...er...DarkKnight, rather than make a joke about Steve and Greg never even being to Maine in their lifetime, so they would not know to avoid hitting the occassional moose-turd...or that Bob can intentionally run over the Maine sized moose-turds because his CT on the back will leave a nice thread pattern in the moose-turd...let me be serious:shock: and say that I use...and have used for more than 43 years...the Stop 'n Go Tire Plug Gun Kit. (in the old days, before Steve started riding, it was just wooden tooth picks we stuck in tires:icon_rolleyes:).