PDA

View Full Version : Tall Riders

Big T
04-16-2015, 10:30 AM
Hi, I'm a newbie and thinking about buying a F6 and want to know what I need to be comfortable. I've read many post stating that taller riders weren't too comfy on a Wing and feeling cramped. I want to buy one but don't want to regret it later. I'm 6'5 and have a Valkyrie Interstate but it took months to get comfortable trying and adjusting highway pegs and I'm still not 100% comfortable yet.

I asked this question on the Facebook F6B page and was referred here.

Thanks in advance for any help. :icon_cool:

Limoles
04-16-2015, 11:23 AM
You will be OK with the OEM F6B seat . Original Goldwing has differently shaped seat and taller riders might feel cramped , but this shouldn't make you worry . Beside ( or if want to upgrade ) , you have many other options to choose between Ultimate's , Russell's ( and few other ) saddles . For taller riders, Mustang ( which is 1" lower than OEM and great for "short legged" ) , is not recommended .

Westernbiker
04-16-2015, 11:27 AM
Well I'm 6' 6" with a 38" inseam. I am in the process of selling my beloved '97' Valkyrie. I had to put a King Big Boy Ultimate seat on it which sat me back an extra 2". With highway pegs, new seat, tall windshield and some other minor adjustments (Handlebars, hand controls, 1" over stock rear shock ect...) I was finally good to go on that Valk for thousands of miles.
The F6B. Well, the stock seat I could not stand but others here love it. So, new Ultimate seat, which I believe it sits you up a bit higher but Ultimate says no it don't. I still feel it does. A taller wind shield and the addition of highway pegs I am able to be fairly comfortable on this bike. The seat sits you back about 1 1/2". If I had to compare the two for fit alone, I would say the Valkyrie fits better. Only because of seat position, no fairing to get my legs around to reach the highway pegs and adjustable handlebars.