PDA

View Full Version : GPS Question

hiflyer
04-29-2015, 01:54 PM
On the GPS units you use on your bike (or in your car), can you put in the coordinates to find a location? I have plenty of aviation gps experience, not so much these units. TIA.

Hornblower
04-29-2015, 02:38 PM
Hi, Keith! I haven't tried it myself but apparently, it can be done quite easily. Here is a short YouTube video on how this is done on Garmin devices:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-TsnGKdzPbw

Fla_rider
04-29-2015, 02:39 PM
Here's the deal, I think it's easier to put in 123 elm street, tampa, Florida. Then lats and long coordinates. Dang pilots can fly around the world but don't ask them to drive to mickydees!:yikes:

stroguy
04-29-2015, 02:48 PM
Actually my GPS experience is quicker with Lat/Long than street addys. enter city name, press enter. Enter street name, press enter. Did you mean.....Enter street number press enter. Did you mean.......

Enter LAT 30.02, press enter. Enter LONG -90.01, press enter. Go....Lakefront airport New Orleans.

Problem with LAT/LONG is having the database.

Our facilities are all by LAT/LONG.

Thusly it is easier to enter streets and addys.

Did I confuse anyone?

hiflyer
04-29-2015, 02:51 PM
Hi, Keith! I haven't tried it myself but apparently, it can be done quite easily.

Thanks Ken, that's what I need to know! I'm going to use it to find some specific work related locations, out in the boonies.

Bunny
04-29-2015, 04:04 PM
Thanks Ken, that's what I need to know! I'm going to use it to find some specific work related locations, out in the boonies.

what is the best way to hide the wires when you are hooking up the GPS to your Battery. where should i fish the wires thru - is there an easy way??

smokinjoe187
04-29-2015, 06:07 PM
i have been using waze for about 2 years on my smart phone...

zeus661
04-29-2015, 06:53 PM
Most Garmin will allow you to do that.

hiflyer
04-29-2015, 08:00 PM
i have been using waze for about 2 years on my smart phone...