PDA

View Full Version : Tips on Right Side Mirror/Signal Assembly Install

kcmike
08-01-2015, 02:47 PM
I posted this in the garage section, but thought it might be more likely seen here.

Looking for advice with secret tips and traps to look out for when installing the entire right mirror/signal assembly--you know, things like how NOT to drop the mounting screws into the fairing, getting a tight fit, etc.

For embarrassing reasons I'd rather not go into, LOL, I managed to tip the beast over in some soft grass. Unfortunately, it was a fairly steep downgrade and the bike rolled over on the right side far enough to bend and break the entire right side assembly off at the mounting bracket. Fortunately, nothing else was damaged but my ego.

Install appears relatively straightforward, and I am a moderately skilled amateur wrench, but I'm sure there might be some tricks or tips on what to watch for? Maybe a diagram if available? Thanks

Willl
08-01-2015, 05:47 PM
Cruiseman's has some free Video's on youtube that will show you some of what you will need to do but not all
http://www.cruisemansgarage.com/

Sorry I could not be of more help but I am still waiting on a shop manual

Hopefully another member will chime in

Good Luck :icon_biggrin:

stroguy
08-01-2015, 05:50 PM
How's your brake pedal?

kcmike
08-01-2015, 06:54 PM
Thanks Will, I'll give that vid a look. Stroguy: Pedal seems fine. It was soft ground so the only damage came from the sickening sound of the mirror breaking off as it rolled into the grass. I've been riding it all day after this happened and all seems well.

I took a look at the left side, under the boot, and it looks pretty straightforward--looks like three mounting bolts. It just looks like a tight fit and a wonderful opportunity to invent some new cuss words while dropping tiny screws into the opening and trying to get the right angle on a screwdriver, etc.

53driver
08-01-2015, 06:59 PM