PDA

View Full Version : Best Pocket 9mm?

fxdl2051
08-31-2015, 11:28 PM
In the interests of saving space, anyone recommend a jam proof, accurate, small frame 9MM semi for camping trips? I just don't want to carry any full frame guns, I'm pretty maxed out space wise already and 38s are too light a load IMHO. I've got a CCW permit so no worries there. Thanks upfront.

gmorstad
08-31-2015, 11:31 PM
I am a firearms instructor and have had some exposure to the new Glock 43 including shooting three different examples in the last week. It is an excellent concealed carry firearm.

ths61
08-31-2015, 11:33 PM
I am a firearms instructor and have had some exposure to the new Glock 43 including shooting three different examples in the last week. It is an excellent concealed carry firearm.

Wasn't there some early problems with the 43 (think later versions have addressed the initial issues)?

You might want to also check out a Ruger LC9 (2 magazine sizes) and a Sig Sauer P938 or a Glock G26 (multiple magazine sizes) if you don't mind a thicker double stack.

stroguy
08-31-2015, 11:57 PM
G43 is nice but a lil flippy with the 9MM, G26 is a nice pack pistol, sometimes takes time to get used to the pinky being off. I am a recent Springfield XDS9 buyer and like it with the extended mag. I would more suggest the XDS45 just to be able to carry a 240gr bullet. The 9MM will handle plenty of animals including the two hoofed, but if it were the oddball bear or cougar you could stumble on I would prefer a lil heavier load. The one thing guaranteed is you are going to get a ton of different advice here and it all has good merits.

53driver
09-01-2015, 12:18 AM
Glock 30 Short Frame in .45 fits nicely alongside my "katfish gut" walking and riding.

And yes, "why .45?" Because they don't make a .46.....

shooter
09-01-2015, 03:26 AM
Glock 30 Short Frame in .45 fits nicely alongside my "katfish gut" walking and riding.

And yes, "why .45?" Because they don't make a .46.....