PDA

View Full Version : Just joined the forum and have questions

oldman
10-20-2015, 01:37 PM
I'm brand new to the forum, but not new to motorcycling. I've been riding for over 30 years, and I guess in many ways I am an "old timer" since I am 72 as well. But riding makes me feel 32 again, and I'm sure many on the forum know what I mean. I currently have a Triumph Thunderbird but I'm seriously interested in getting the F6b, or possibly a Goldwing. I had the chance just to sit on a new F6b at the dealer and it just felt right. It was the Deluxe version, and since that includes a passenger back rest (a must have in my opinion) and cruise control (at the time of my list for what I wish my current bike had), I really got excited. I wish I could have taken a demo ride right then, but that will have to wait. Some of the questions I have, to which I will greatly appreciate your answers, are:
-- why an F6b and not a Goldwing?
-- my current bike is 750 pounds, am I likely to really notice the higher weight of the F6b?
-- other than a better windscreen, are there any mods or extras that you feel are truly critical right from the start?
-- if you came to the F6b from a Goldwing, how much do you miss the reverse gear?

Looking forward to hearing from those in the know about this bike. Thanks in advance.

Cobraguy
10-20-2015, 02:38 PM