PDA

View Full Version : Just pulled the trigger

xzvs
08-10-2013, 04:31 PM
Did the paperwork today--- take delivery of my (in the crate) black f6b on Wednesday- will assemble myself (I am a Honda tech )-- I currently own a 99 Valkyrie (daily rider) which will be cleaned up and sold to help offset the cost. I figure I may as well get the closest thing to a new Valkyrie as I love mine but she is getting a little long in the tooth (136k miles - not a leak - not a puff of blue out the 6 pipes). Wanted to say "hey" and no I wont help you change the air filter (ain't my first rodeo).

Honda Raider
08-10-2013, 04:54 PM
It's cool to hear that a Honda Tech wants an F6B. Glad for you. Ride safe! :icon_cool:

unsub
08-10-2013, 05:16 PM
So this is my first GL1800. The test unit I drove was a full on 2013 GW but bottom end sounded a bit raspy for the first 10 minutes. Is this the norm? Otherwise a beautiful motorcycle to drive. Looking forward to Tuesday.

What I like about the F6

1. GW platform so parts and accessories "should" be abundant.
2. Proven frame, suspension, brakes, and engine.
3. Aluminum frame.

XZVS are my expectations on point...or?

xzvs
08-10-2013, 05:35 PM
you would have to define "raspy" I take it as a grating sound . On acceleration I get what I may call a "burble" from the exhaust -- kinda throaty in a v-8 sorta way. ALL the wings I have ridden stock are far too quiet for me. I have worked on everything from boss hosses to mopeds and the wing is by far the smoothest engine on a bike ever -- too smooth. If you need me I'll be the guy drilling holes in my brand new exhaust .
Mind you I don't wanna sound like a twin -- my valk sounds like a smallblock chevy with a cam

xzvs
08-10-2013, 05:45 PM