PDA

View Full Version : F6B service recommendations

Bill_C
10-28-2016, 05:50 PM
Hi, I'm looking for a reputable place in northern NJ to get the F6B serviced. I could pick a local Honda dealer, but I would also consider other places if others have had positive experiences. Would appreciate any thoughts - thanks.

VStarRider
10-28-2016, 06:43 PM
Bill, what type of service are you looking for?

Bill_C
10-28-2016, 07:40 PM
Hi, I'm looking for the 4k mile service. I might do a bit more, maybe the air filter because the bike was in a dusty climate for a while. Overall nothing out of the ordinary though.

VStarRider
10-28-2016, 07:49 PM
At 4K, I think you just need to change the oil/filter. Trust me, I am no mechanic...its very easy to do, unlike most bikes. I was ready to take mine to the dealer and spend $120 on an oil change till the guys on here told me how easy it was. I did myself last Sunday, and I don't have the center stand.

Check out this video, knowing that you won't have to take anything off / disconnect anything underneath an F6B unlike the full Wing in this video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jYdClODGZPg

Bill_C
10-28-2016, 08:08 PM
Thanks for the tip, and great video. I was thinking about doing the oil/filter myself, should be a pretty easy project...

Again, thanks for the input much appreciated.

stroguy
10-28-2016, 08:14 PM
It's very easy. Very with a big ole V. Your air filter is good. I had mine changed during a warranty drop off at 12000 and it was a waste. The filter still looked brand new out of the wrapper. Wouldn't worry until 30K, maybe a hair sooner.

seadog
10-28-2016, 08:20 PM
They have to tear half the bike apart to get to said filter and you will be paying for about 2 to 3 hours labor to put a new filter in it. Watch you fuel mileage and if your up in the 39 to 44 mile per gallon range your filter is fine. Most people don't change it until 25 to 30 thousand miles.

Bill_C
10-28-2016, 08:21 PM