Am I wrong? Not a quick detach trunk
Value Accessories 2016
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Am I wrong? Not a quick detach trunk

  1. #1
    Senior Member Broken Hand's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Wenatchee, WA
    Posts
    138

    Am I wrong? Not a quick detach trunk

    http://powersports.honda.com/documen...71-MKC-A00.pdf

    Putting the trunk back on looks like a hassle. Too bad.


    Hondas and Kawis and Zukis and Yammys...Oh my!

  2. #2
    Senior Member shortleg0521's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    fredrick. maryland
    Posts
    868
    Ya it looks like they may have made it more work than was needed.
    Why not just four bolts and a plug?

  3. #3
    Senior Member lloydmoore1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Oromocto,NB,Canada
    Posts
    507
    49 steps ...11 pages...yep should be a breeze. Better not be attempted with beer in hand....

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Springfield va
    Posts
    126
    Insane.

    But then so is error message I just got that I have to have a response with 10 characters minimum. So here.

  5. #5
    How many more steps to reset the message in the opening ceremony after disconnecting the battery?

    Riding a Goldwing is like opening a can of testosterone.
    Go Green - Recycle Congress!!!!

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Central, Fl.
    Posts
    616
    I'll never understand why some folks make something hard out of something simple / easy. I use a SW Motec rack, w/ GIVI 3 point mount & a GIVI side pannier as a top box. Off-On in 2 seconds. I would think HONDA could come up w/ something just as simple. Why not contract their top boxes out to GIVI? = Oh I see, it's money.

  7. #7
    Senior Member Broken Hand's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Wenatchee, WA
    Posts
    138
    Perhaps some bold 3rd party accessory vendor can come up with their own quick-detach bracket/harness. You never know.


    Hondas and Kawis and Zukis and Yammys...Oh my!

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    248
    If a shop were doing it, they'd charge you at lease 3.0-hrs of labor.

  9. #9
    Senior Member ths61's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    So Cal
    Posts
    1,763
    Quote Originally Posted by shortleg0521 View Post
    Ya it looks like they may have made it more work than was needed.
    Why not just four bolts and a plug?
    It is missing the plug because the trunk has no running, turn, brake, hazard lights. They simplified the procedure by getting rid of the safety features.

  10. #10
    Member Zteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    SweetValley, PA
    Posts
    71
    Looks about as much fun as changing my B's air filter. Yeah, that box isn't coming off much.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •