Gryroscopic or flywheel effect
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Gryroscopic or flywheel effect

Gryroscopic or flywheel effect

Oddball question - As most are well aware, when doing slow maneuvering with a v-twin motorcycle, some stability can be generated by revving the engine and applying some trailing brake while playing in the friction zone. Very slow speeds are achieved with the help of the forces created by the spinning parts of the engine (the flywheel?).

Now, I'm an operator, not a maintainer and can't really speak to the accuracy of the parts involved, but know it does work. I wonder though, if the flat-6 in the F6B (or any Goldwing for that matter) gains similar benefits at higher RPMs. Or is the engine oriented differently?

Any thoughts on this would be appreciated.
    2016 F6B Deluxe with goodies.

That's a great question!

By design the HD V-Twin has "more" stuff spinning in the North-South plane than a flat 6 - flywheel, crankshaft, plus the primary and clutch plates.
    However, I think that most physicists will agree that stuff spinning in ANY plane will stabilize as much as long as it is equivalent mass at equivalent speed as long as that plane is not messed with too greatly.
    At slow speeds, almost no angle of bank, dragging the rear brake (or as close to that as we can come with linked brakes) I would say that any RPM increase that you can maintain steadily will help.
    Cheers,
    Steve
    My girls:
    Isleen - 2014 F6BD
    Saorla - 1995 FLSTN Heritage Special

"Politeness, n: The most acceptable hypocrisy."
    Ambrose Bierce

Also there is what's called Fud,s 2nd law.
    That is to say , If an object is pushed with surfactant force it will
    become horizontal.