Cruise control
Page 1 of 13 1234567891011 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 123

Thread: Cruise control

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    9

    Cruise control

    Did anyone have and aftermarket cruise control installed yet? I just can not have a bike without it. But I just love this bike. AAAHHHHHH

  2. #2
    Went with a throttle lock. Biught mine from Throttlemeister. Very pleased with it. Looks and works great!

  3. #3

    Cruise

    Quote Originally Posted by micky_foccer View Post
    Went with a throttle lock. Biught mine from Throttlemeister. Very pleased with it. Looks and works great!
    Throttlemeister here +1

  4. #4
    Senior Member jkelley's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Western, NC
    Posts
    590
    NO real cruise yet, Hoping Pete gets it done soon. Like you I am missing mine more than I thought I would.

    Throttle lock devices simply don't work here in the mountains.

  5. #5
    Member RT59's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Ankeny, IA
    Posts
    78
    Throttlemeister for me too until a full cruise is available. My TM is so much better than nothing at all. It works great with this bike - even pulling a trailer.

    Russ

  6. #6
    Senior Member Mustangjake's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Hudson, Fl.
    Posts
    406

    Go cruise

    I bought the new Aluminum go cruise! works good for me .

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Lawrenceville, Georgia
    Posts
    95
    I have successfully installed a Rostra cuise contol on the F6B. It was a difficult task, but it certainly doable. The cruise engages smoothly & holds speeds within a mile an hour or so. Due to local traffic conditions, I've only been able to test it between 40 & 60 mph.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  8. #8
    DarkSider#1617 Steve 0080's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Sanford,FLA
    Posts
    8,060

    Cool

    Interesting.......
    " Truth is often deemed rude, blunt and to the point which is why so few make their friend " Freddy Hayler ..352-267-1553 Sanford, FLA

  9. #9
    Supporting Vendor Pedro66's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    447
    Great minds think alike it seems did you pickup the speed pulse direct from the bike or did you have to use a multiplier/divider what are your DIP settings

    We went side ways with the mount allows for the heated grip switches



    Making this part for the throttle body



    Not fully fitted needs a 7mm thread extender



    Cable routes around the front

    Pete
    BikeMP3

    http://WWW.BIKEMP3.COM

    "What is now proved was once only imagined."
    William Blake

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Lawrenceville, Georgia
    Posts
    95
    If you'll notice, my throttle body lever is bent with an offset, so that it fits within the recess in the stock throttle cable rotary arm. My throttle arm is .060. I removed the stock lock washer & used a star washer, which is much thinner than the stock washer. I reused the stock nut.

    I mounted my cruise control the way I did so that i could access the dip switches easier. I had to move the wire attachments for the heated grips. I still have room for the heated grips controller & I can get the radiator cap off if I have to.

    For the speed signal, I tapped into the VS wire near where it goes into the ECM. It's the white wire w/black stripe (#A10) on the Black connector. I used a X4 frequency divider between the VS wire and the Rostra unit. I was never able to actually determine the "pluses per mile", but it's somewhere in the neighborhood of 70,000 to 75,000. The VS signal is picked up off of the counter shaft 4th gear, which has 27 teeth and the engine turns 3250 @ 60 mph. 27 X 3250 = 87750. If I knew the gear reduction between the engine crankshaft & the counter shaft, the exact pulses per mile could be calculated.

    I also tapped onto one of the coil driver wires (#A26, A27, or A28) for the RPM signal. This won't give the Rostra unit the exact RPM, but it doesn't matter, because the Rostra unit monitors the "rate of RPM change" for safety purposes if the clutch is pulled in or the transmission is knocked out of gear somehow.

    The dip switch settings I used are based on the length of the lever arm and the relative angle that I used as it's attached to the throttle body. My arm has a C-C of 1-1/2" & the angle would be about 4:30 on the clock.

    Gain: low
    Pulses/Mile: 19,300
    Engine/set up: 4 cylinder low
    VSS Source: Square wave
    Tranmission: Manual
    Control Sw: Open
    Attached Images Attached Images

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •